Tightrope Books

Alex Boyd wins the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award!

By Tightrope Books | June 25th, 2008 | Print This Post | Email This Post | Leave a Comment

IV Lounge Nights Editor Alex Boyd was awarded the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award for his book Making Bones Walk (Luna Publications), which the judges said was “rich with innovative language and Boyd’s very original way of looking at the world.”

The Lampert award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year. Lampert was an arts administrator who organized authors’ tours and took an interest in the work of new writers

I.V. Lounge Nights Debuts!

By Tightrope Books | June 4th, 2008 | Print This Post | Email This Post | Leave a Comment

Thanks to everyone who made it out to the spectacular launch of IV Lounge Nights. For those of you who weren’t available to come by the TRANZAC and purchase a copy, you can order one here or here.

Comments: Leave a comment » | Trackback

Category: News


Reminder: IV lounge Nights launches Thursday!

By Tightrope Books | May 26th, 2008 | Print This Post | Email This Post | Leave a Comment

Come and celebrate one of Toronto’s oldest and most beloved reading series:
Tightrope Books is proud to announce the launch of
IV Lounge Nights
An Anthology of the Last Five Years
Edited by Alex Boyd and Myna Wallin
(CAN $21.95 USA $19.95 — May 2008)

Official Launch: 7 p.m. Thursday, May 29th, 2008 @ The Tranzac Club, 292 Brunswick Avenue.

A sneak peak at the contributors to I.V. Lounge Nights!

By Tightrope Books | February 25th, 2008 | Print This Post | Email This Post | Leave a Comment

Grab your martini, the I.V. Lounge is Toronto’s coziest place to kick back and listen to fiction or poetry. For ten years, every other Friday night, that’s exactly what has happened at the I.V. Lounge reading series, as fiction writers read alongside poets, emerging talent next to established talent, and local writers with those passing through town. I.V. Lounge Nights gathers twenty-nine talented writers together to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the series, and relaxing with literature on a Friday night.

Edited by Myna Wallin and Alex Boyd, the anthology includes:


Ray Hsu
David Clink
Carmine Starnino
Karen Solie
Matthew Tierney
Goran Simic
Rob Winger
Michael V Smith
Steve McOrmond
Dani Couture
Evie Christie
Leigh Kotsilidis
Sue Sinclair
Catherine Graham
Sharon McCartney
Molly Peacock


Michael Bryson
Shaun Smith
Matthew Trafford
James Grainger
Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer
Emily Schultz
Andrew Daley
Moez Surani
Jessica Westhead
Alayna Munce
Heather Wood
Stacey May Fowles
Alexandra Leggatt